Latest News The 15th Attorney General of India K K Venugopal.

The 15th Legal professional Normal of India Okay Okay Venugopal.   | Picture Credit score:
R V Moorthy

Newest Information
Okay.Okay. Venugopal time period has been prolonged for one 12 months and Tushar Mehta will get three extra years

The Union authorities strengthened its high authorized workforce by extending the time period of Okay.Okay. Venugopal because the Legal professional Normal (AG) for one 12 months, Tushar Mehta because the Solicitor Normal (SG) for 3 years and appointing six new Extra Solicitors Normal (ASGs) moreover extending the tenure of 5 present ASGs.

Whereas the AG was reappointed by President Ram Nath Kovind, the opposite appointments had been notified by the Legislation Ministry late on Monday after the Appointments Committee of the Cupboard (ACC), headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, cleared them.

The Centre’s high legislation officer, Mr. Venugopal, who was appointed in July 2017 after his predecessor Mukul Rohatgi had resigned, has been appointed for a 12 months at his personal request due to his superior age of 89 years.

Mr. Mehta has been given a full three-year extension, starting July 1, by the ACC.

Serving ASGs Vikramajit Banerjee, Aman Lekhi, Madhavi Goradia Divan, Okay.M. Nataraj and Sanjay Jain additionally obtained three years’ extension, a launch from the Division of Personnel and Coaching mentioned.

To symbolize the Central authorities earlier than the Supreme Courtroom for 3 years, the Cupboard committee appointed six senior advocates Balbir Singh, Suryaprakash V. Raju, Rupinder Singh Suri, N. Venkataraman, Jayant Okay. Sud and Aishwarya Bhati have been appointed as ASGs.

Moreover reappointing Anil C. Singh because the ASG for the Bombay Excessive Courtroom and Satya Pal Jain for Punjab and Excessive Courtroom, 5 new ASGs have additionally been appointed for various Excessive Courts.

Yezdezard Jehangir Dastoor has been appointed for Calcutta Excessive Courtroom, Chetan Sharma for Delhi HC, Sankaranarayanan for Madras HC, Krishna Nandan Singh for Patna HC and Devang Girish Vyas for the Gujarat HC.